Kings Birthday Honour for Maureen Christie

The VWSG is delighted to announce that Maureen Christie received the Kings Birthday Honour 2023. Congratulations Maureen!!


For significant service to wildlife conservation.

Friends of Shorebirds SE (FoSSE)

  • Secretary, Treasurer and Newsletter Editor, since 2005.
  • Founding Member, since 2005.

BirdLife Australia

  • Committee Member, Australasian Wader Studies, Special Interest Group, current.
  • Expedition Co-Leader, Australasian Wader Studies Group NWWA, and Report Co-Author, 2007-2013.

Member, Birdlife South East South Australia, since 2020.

Victorian Wader Study Group

  • Member, since 1995.
  • Authorized Australian A-class bird banding authority with cannon-netting endorsement, since 2001.

Friends of Mount Gambier Area Parks

  • Treasurer, 1996-2001.
  • Secretary, 1997-2001.
  • Founding Member, since 1995.

Roles – Other

  • Member, respective local Field Naturalists group, since 1974.
  • Contributor, Ornithological Collection, South Australian Museum.
  • Former Member, Country Women’s Association.

Publications include:

  • Over 35 peer-reviewed articles, reports, newspaper items, and a book chapter.
  • Author/Editor, 162 newsletters, ‘Friends of Shorebirds SE’, since 2005.
  • Author/Editor, 27 newsletters, ‘SA Banding’, prior to 2005.
  • Regular Contributor, ‘Victorian Wader Study Group Bulletin’

Awards and Recognition include:

  • Member, South Australian Women’s Honour Roll, since 2021.
  • Serventy Conservation Award, Australian Wildlife Society, 2021.
  • Certificate of Appreciation, Natural Resources South East, 2017.
  • Certificate of Recognition, South Australian Premier, 2014.
  • Certificate of Recognition, South Australian Landcare Awards and Premier’s Natural Resources Management Awards, 2009
  • Certificate of Appreciation, Department for Environment and Heritage, South Australia, 2007, and 2003.
  • Certificate of Recognition, Prime Minister’s International Year of Volunteers, 2001.
  • Certificate of Appreciation, South Australian Premier, 2001.