Victorian Wader Study Group

VWSG FIELDWORK PROGRAMME

January to June 2014

DATEPLACE AND OBJECTIVESTide time
and height (m)
Sat 4 Jan and
Sun 5 Jan
Yallock Creek and Stockyard Point
Small waders and Red-necked Avocet
15.41
16.41
2.73
2.82
Wed 22 JanYallock Creek
Small Waders and Red-necked Avocet
17.592.66
Sat 25 JanBarralliar Island
Small waders
07.142.77
Mon 3 FebRhyll
Bar-tailed Godwit
16.342.88
Sat 8 Feb to
Tues 11 Feb
Corner Inlet
Bar-tailed Godwit, Red Knot, Oystercatchers
(Stay at Manns Beach Hall)
07.19 to
08.43
2.59 to
2.35
Sun 16 Feb to
Sun 9 Mar
AWSG NWA 2014 Wader and Tern Expedition
Broome and 80 Mile Beach
Mon 17 Mar to
Tues 25 Mar
King Island
Ruddy Turnstone
12.38 to
17.29
1.31 to
1.52
Sun 30 Mar to
Mon 7 Apr
South Australia
Ruddy Turnstone and Sanderling
13.40 to
17.20
0.96 to
1.09
Wed 16 AprFairhaven
Pied Oystercatcher
13.522.78
Tues 29 AprilStockyard Point
Pied Oystercatcher
12.512.86
Thur 15 MayRhyll
Pied Oystercatcher
13.212.88
Sat 17 May and
Sun 18 May
RoussacĪ€s and Barry Beach
Pied and Sooty Oystercatcher
(Stay at Yanakie)
15.29
16.20
2.60
2.72
Sun 22 Jun to
Tues 24 June
Charles Hall Road (22nd)
Corner Inlet (23th and 24th)

Oystercatchers and overwintering waders
(Stay at Yanakie)
08.15
09.08
10.02
2.53
2.46
2.40
Sat 28 Jun to
Sun 29 Jun
Corner Inlet
Oystercatchers and overwintering waders
(Stay at Yanakie)
1401
1454
2.45
2.52

Please note that the Corner Inlet catching in June is split into two parts, each of two days duration. This is to optimise the tides. Additional fieldwork will be added to the programme if reccies show potential eg at Sandy Point and Queenscliff. Also, Penny Johns will be organising catching of Turnstone and Sooty Oystercatchers at Flinders, and dates will be circulated when finalised.

 

PARTICIPATION ARRANGEMENTS

The meeting time is normally 5 hours before high tide.

Please try and let Penny or Rob know, by email or by phone, several days before each fieldwork activity if you are planning to participate. This greatly helps reduce the number of phone calls which organizers have to make to complete a satisfactory team for each activity.

Penny Johnspennyjohns@hotmail.com
0419 366 507
Rob Patrickrob@farmingminds.com.au
0408 429 944

 

OTHER VWSG CONTACTS

Clive Minton165 Dalgetty Rd, Beaumaris. 3193.
9589 4901 (h)
0427 831 080 (field only)
mintons@ozemail.com.au
Roz Jessop0427 521 857
moonbird39@gmail.com
Susan Taylor5182 5470 (h)
5183 9104 (w)
0428 839 104
susan.taylor@delwp.vic.gov.au
Birgita Hansen0428 591 810
b.hansen@ballarat.edu.au
Doris Graham9482 2112 (h) phone and fax
grahamdm@melbpc.org.au
Messages 0409 230 341
Rosemary Davidson9885 8231 (h)
5687 1322 (Yanakie)
rosiedavidson@iprimus.com.au
Ken Gosbell9878 9722
0429 804 524 (field only)
ken@gosbell.id.au
Robyn Atkinson5251 3177 (h)
0429 965 271
atkinson@hugonet.com.au
Dave Cropley9763 6073 (h)
scropley7@bigpond.com
Prue Wright9489 7508 (h)
0404 002 745
prue327@gmail.com